Skip to content
The Cam Feeder

Smart Bird Feeder Cameras

HARYMOR Smart Bird Feeder

The budget end of this category is where listings go quiet. This one prints a hopper capacity, which is more than most of its rivals manage - and then stops.

A goldfinch perched on a garden bird feeder

How this page is funded. Buying through a link here earns us a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order we recommend it in, and we have not handled any of these products ourselves - see how we pick and the full disclosure.

There is a pattern at the cheap end of this category that is worth naming before we get to this particular feeder: the further down the price list you go, the less the listings tell you. The premium models publish resolutions, sensor dimensions and battery figures. Under a hundred dollars, most listings publish a photograph of a cardinal and a number of species the app claims to know.

The HARYMOR is on this site because it breaks that pattern in one specific place. It states a hopper capacity - 2L - and that single published figure is more useful than most of what its competitors do print.

Why a published capacity matters more than it sounds

Capacity is the most underrated specification in this whole category, and it is the one that decides your actual experience of owning a feeder camera rather than your experience of reading about one.

Here is the mechanism. A camera pointed at an empty tray records nothing. A busy feeder in cold weather - which is peak feeder season, when natural food is scarce and birds need calories - empties far faster than people expect. So the gap between a small hopper and a generous one is the difference between refilling weekly and refilling every other day, in ice, in the dark, at whatever distance from the house you mounted it.

2L is mid-pack in absolute terms. It is roughly double the smallest hoppers in this category and roughly two-thirds of the largest, which is a reasonable place to be for the money. What makes it notable is that it is stated at all: at this price point the usual answer to "how much seed does it hold" is silence.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specifications and what each one costs to own. Every pick names the buyer it is wrong for.

Ranked on published specifications and what each one costs to own. Every pick names the buyer it is wrong for.
#ProductBest forPrice
1
HARYMOR Smart Bird Feeder

HARYMOR Smart Bird Feeder

The rare budget feeder that states its hopper size. 2L and 2K for under a hundred - and a specification sheet that stops there.

A published capacity below a hundred dollars
$85.47 - View on Amazon

$116.97 27% off

#ad Price checked October 17, 2026. How this is funded

2
Netvue Birdfy Lite

Netvue Birdfy Lite

The entry Birdfy: adjustable brackets, free cloud storage stated on the listing, and the same 6,000+ species claim as its expensive siblings.

The cheapest way into the category
$55.82 - View on Amazon

$69.99 20% off

#ad Price checked October 17, 2026. How this is funded

3
SOLIOM Metal Bird Feeder Camera

SOLIOM Metal Bird Feeder Camera

A durable metal, squirrel-proof body with 2K live view for less than anything else here - from the one maker in this category that publishes what its cloud plan costs.

A metal body at the bottom of the price range
$68.99 - View on Amazon

#ad Price checked October 17, 2026. How this is funded

HARYMOR Smart Bird Feeder

1. A published capacity below a hundred dollars

HARYMOR Smart Bird Feeder

The rare budget feeder that states its hopper size. 2L and 2K for under a hundred - and a specification sheet that stops there.

$85.47 - View on Amazon

$116.97 27% off

#ad Price checked October 17, 2026. How this is funded

The reason this one is worth a page is a single number: 2L, published. Hopper capacity is the specification that decides how often you walk outside in January, and at this price almost nobody states it - the budget end of this category is where listings go quiet. A maker that prints a figure is one you can at least compare.

2K is mid-pack and entirely adequate for a full-frame shot of a bird on the tray. What you are not getting at this price is a sensor dimension, which is the number that actually decides a backlit photograph - only one maker in this category publishes one, and it costs roughly three times as much. The flagship roundup sets out that argument.

The gap that matters most is the subscription position. The listing claims AI identification and says nothing about how it is billed, and on this site silence is recorded as silence rather than as free. Budget for the possibility of a plan, or buy from the no-subscription roundup where the terms are stated in writing.

The listing says nothing about a subscriptionNo species count published5 specs the maker will not publish
Published specifications for the HARYMOR Smart Bird Feeder
Seed capacity2LPublished, which is unusual at this price - most budget listings state nothing.Source: HARYMOR Smart Bird Feeder - manufacturer listing on Amazon, retrieved 1 September 2026
Video resolution2K HD live streamSource: HARYMOR Smart Bird Feeder - manufacturer listing on Amazon, retrieved 1 September 2026
SolarSolar poweredSource: HARYMOR Smart Bird Feeder - manufacturer listing on Amazon, retrieved 1 September 2026
AlertsInstant arrival alerts with AI species identificationSource: HARYMOR Smart Bird Feeder - manufacturer listing on Amazon, retrieved 1 September 2026
Species identifiedNot publishedThis listing claims AI identification without naming a count.
SubscriptionNot publishedThe listing says nothing either way, and silence is not the same as free.
Battery capacityNot published
Wi-Fi bandNot publishedAssume 2.4GHz until the manual says otherwise.
Ingress ratingNot published

What it does well

  • Publishes a 2L hopper capacity, which most budget listings do not
  • 2K live stream and instant arrival alerts at well under a hundred dollars
  • Solar as standard
  • One of the cheapest routes into the category that states any capacity at all

What it does not

  • No published Wi-Fi band, battery capacity or ingress rating
  • AI identification is claimed with no stated species count
  • The subscription position is not stated anywhere on the listing
  • No sensor dimension, so picture quality cannot be compared against the documented models

Skip this: if you need the subscription question answered before you buy. HARYMOR does not address it on the listing, and if a recurring charge is a dealbreaker the models in the no-subscription roundup put their terms in writing.

Netvue Birdfy Lite

2. The cheapest way into the category

Netvue Birdfy Lite

The entry Birdfy: adjustable brackets, free cloud storage stated on the listing, and the same 6,000+ species claim as its expensive siblings.

$55.82 - View on Amazon

$69.99 20% off

#ad Price checked October 17, 2026. How this is funded

The Lite exists to get you into the category for as little as possible, and it does that job. What it does not do is publish its capture resolution, which is a meaningful omission on a product whose entire purpose is taking pictures.

The free-cloud-storage line is the most interesting thing on the listing, because free storage is the feature that most often turns out to be the subscription hook. Read the current terms at the point of purchase rather than trusting a review - ours included.

If your budget is the constraint, this or one of the picks in the under-$100 roundup is where to look. If image quality is the constraint, look at the flagship roundup instead.

Subscription offered, price not published on the listingClaims 6,000+ species3 specs the maker will not publish
Published specifications for the Netvue Birdfy Lite
Species identified6,000+ claimedA claim by the maker.Source: Birdfy Lite - manufacturer listing on Amazon, retrieved 1 September 2026
Cloud storageFree cloud storage stated on the listingSource: Birdfy Lite - manufacturer listing on Amazon, retrieved 1 September 2026
MountingAdjustable bracketsSource: Birdfy Lite - manufacturer listing on Amazon, retrieved 1 September 2026
Smart homeWorks with AlexaSource: Birdfy Lite - manufacturer listing on Amazon, retrieved 1 September 2026
Video resolutionNot publishedThe Lite listing does not state a capture resolution.
Battery capacityNot published
SolarNot publishedSolar is sold separately on this model.

What it does well

  • The lowest barrier to entry in the Birdfy line
  • Free cloud storage stated on the maker's own listing
  • Adjustable brackets suit an awkward mounting spot
  • Alexa support, which none of the premium models here advertise

What it does not

  • No published capture resolution at all - unusual and unhelpful
  • Solar is a separate purchase
  • Carries the same 6,000+ species claim as the flagship, which is telling

Skip this: if the photographs are the point. A feeder camera that will not state its own resolution is a feeder camera you are buying blind, and for a small step up the Birdfy 2 Pro publishes everything.

SOLIOM Metal Bird Feeder Camera

3. A metal body at the bottom of the price range

SOLIOM Metal Bird Feeder Camera

A durable metal, squirrel-proof body with 2K live view for less than anything else here - from the one maker in this category that publishes what its cloud plan costs.

$68.99 - View on Amazon

#ad Price checked October 17, 2026. How this is funded

This is the cheapest route on this site into a metal body, and metal is the whole reason to consider it. A plastic hopper loses to a determined squirrel inside a season; a metal one does not, and nothing else here does it at this price.

Metal case, squirrel-proof claim: worth being precise about what that means. Metal stops a squirrel chewing through the housing. It does not stop a squirrel sitting on the tray and eating everything. Those are separate problems and the squirrel-proof roundup separates them.

The Wi-Fi band is not stated, which for a 2026 outdoor camera is the one omission that will actually cost you an evening. Check the manual before you mount it.

The subscription position is unusually clear, and unusually honest: SOLIOM publishes its cloud pricing, and its free tier is described in its own words as three-day storage "with no AI recognition functionality". So identification is a paid feature here - but at least you can find out what it costs before you buy, which puts SOLIOM ahead of most of the models whose plan prices are unpublished.

Identification requires the paid tierNo species count published4 specs the maker will not publish
Published specifications for the SOLIOM Metal Bird Feeder Camera
Video resolution2K live view, with instant arrival alertsSource: SOLIOM metal bird feeder camera - manufacturer listing on Amazon, retrieved 1 September 2026
BodyDurable metal, squirrel-proofSource: SOLIOM metal bird feeder camera - manufacturer listing on Amazon, retrieved 1 September 2026
SolarSolar poweredSource: SOLIOM metal bird feeder camera - manufacturer listing on Amazon, retrieved 1 September 2026
Seed capacityNot publishedNot stated on the current listing.
Free tierFree 3-day loop cloud storage "with no AI recognition functionality"SOLIOM's own wording. Species identification is therefore a paid feature on this camera.Source: SOLIOM cloud plans and pricing, retrieved 6 September 2026
Subscription price7-day loop from $1.99/30 days or $21.99/360 days; 30-day loop from $3.99/30 days or $39.99/360 daysRead from SOLIOM's own cloud-plans page on 6 September 2026 - one of the very few makers in this category that publishes plan pricing at all. Prices move; check the current page.Source: SOLIOM cloud plans and pricing, retrieved 6 September 2026
Battery capacityNot published
Wi-Fi bandNot publishedThe listing does not state a band. Assume 2.4GHz until the manual says otherwise.
Species identifiedNot publishedSOLIOM sells AI recognition as a paid feature without naming a species count on the listing.

What it does well

  • Metal housing against chewing, at the lowest price here
  • 2K live view with instant arrival alerts
  • Solar as standard
  • Publishes its cloud plan pricing, which almost nobody in this category does

What it does not

  • Wi-Fi band is not published anywhere on the listing
  • Seed capacity is not published on the current listing
  • No published battery capacity
  • Species identification requires a paid cloud plan; the free tier explicitly has none
  • No species count is published, so the scope of the identification is unknown

Skip this: if you expect identification to work out of the box for nothing. SOLIOM's free tier states plainly that it has no AI recognition, so the species names are a subscription feature on this camera - budget for the plan or buy from the no-subscription roundup instead.

2K, and what it does not tell you

The listing publishes a 2K HD live stream. That is mid-pack for the category and entirely adequate for the job most people actually want done: a full-frame clip of a bird standing on the tray, clear enough to see the plumage and identify what it is.

What 2K does not tell you is how the picture will look in the conditions that matter. A bird on a feeder perch is outdoors, inches from a small lens, and almost always backlit against a bright sky. Whether that renders as a photograph or a silhouette is decided by how much light the sensor gathers and how much dynamic range it has - not by how many pixels the light is divided between.

HARYMOR publishes no sensor dimension, which is normal: exactly one maker in this entire category does, and it sits at roughly three times this price. So the honest position is that the HARYMOR may well produce a perfectly good image and nothing published lets anyone establish that in either direction. If picture quality is the reason you are buying, that uncertainty is the argument for spending more - the flagship roundup ranks the models that document their optics.

The gap that should give you pause

Of the four things HARYMOR leaves blank, one matters considerably more than the others: the listing claims AI species identification and says nothing whatsoever about how that feature is billed.

On this site, silence is recorded as silence. It is not recorded as free, and that distinction is deliberate, because the single largest avoidable cost in this category is identification held behind a recurring plan whose price is not published where a buyer can find it. A feeder that is cheapest on day one is frequently the most expensive thing on the shelf by month eighteen, and a price-sorted search pushes buyers directly toward that configuration.

So treat this as an open question rather than a resolved one. Check the app's terms at the point of purchase, and run the arithmetic in the three-year cost guide before you decide this is the cheap option. If a recurring charge is a dealbreaker for you, buy from the no-subscription roundup instead, where the models put their terms in writing.

The Wi-Fi band, which is not stated either

HARYMOR does not publish a Wi-Fi band. In this category that is the omission most likely to cost you an evening, so assume 2.4GHz - nearly everything here is - and prepare accordingly.

The problem is not the camera. Most current routers and effectively every mesh system broadcast 2.4GHz and 5GHz under a single network name and steer devices between them, and a 2.4GHz-only device frequently cannot join that network at all. It presents as a broken product: the app scans, finds nothing, times out, and every other device in the house works perfectly. It is a router setting and it takes about ten minutes to fix once you know it is coming.

Read the Wi-Fi requirements guide before the box arrives rather than after the first failed pairing. And if the feeder later pairs fine but keeps dropping out, that is a different problem with a different fix - covered here.

Solar, and the honest expectation

Solar powered, per the listing, with no published battery capacity to reason against. That combination is the category norm rather than a specific failing, but it does mean runtime cannot be worked out from first principles - you are trusting the panel.

Whether that works is a question about your yard rather than about this product. Panels need direct sunlight, not daylight, and people consistently overestimate how much a spot gets. Stand where the feeder will hang and check at three points in the day whether there is a hard-edged shadow on the panel - hard shadow means direct sun, soft or absent means diffuse light and very little charging. Do it with the leaves on.

In a genuinely sunny position this is a feeder you will rarely think about. In shade it becomes a device you carry indoors to charge, and in a northern winter it will need charging regardless of where it hangs. The charging guide covers the whole failure pattern, including the part where a weak Wi-Fi signal drains a battery faster than a panel can refill it.

How it compares at this price

The two alternatives listed above are the useful comparison, because all three sit in the same bracket and make different compromises.

Three sub-$100 feeder cameras, on published figures only
HARYMORBirdfy LiteSOLIOM Metal
Capture2K HD live streamNot published2K live view
Seed capacity2LNot publishedNot published
BodyNot publishedNot publishedDurable metal, squirrel-proof
SolarYesSold separatelyYes
Species claimClaimed, no count6,000+Claimed, no count
SubscriptionNot statedFree cloud storage statedIdentification requires a paid plan; pricing published
Three sub-$100 feeder cameras, on published figures only

Read across that table and the picture is clear enough. The Birdfy Lite is the cheapest way into an established brand and publishes no capture resolution at all, which on a camera is a strange omission. The SOLIOM is the only metal body at this price - genuinely useful against squirrels - and it is also the only one of the three that tells you what its cloud plan costs, which is worth crediting even though the answer is that identification is paid.

The HARYMOR sits between them: more capture detail than the Lite, more capacity detail than either, no metal, and an unanswered billing question. The under-$100 roundup ranks this bracket properly and explains what the entry level gives up in general.

Who should buy it

Someone who wants to find out whether they enjoy this hobby before committing real money to it, and who would rather have a feeder that states its capacity than one that states a species count. On those terms it is a reasonable first camera, and the 2L hopper means it will not be empty every other morning.

It also suits a second feeder. Once you have a good camera on the main feeding station, a cheaper unit on a different part of the garden - or a different seed type - widens what you see for far less than doubling up on a premium model.

Who should not

Anyone for whom the photographs are the point. No sensor dimension is published, so this cannot be compared against the models that do publish one, and if image quality is what you are spending on you should spend it where the optics are documented.

Anyone who needs the subscription position settled before buying. HARYMOR does not address it, and an unstated billing arrangement on a product whose headline feature is identification is a genuine risk rather than a technicality.

And anyone whose real problem is squirrels. This is not a metal feeder and nothing on the listing claims squirrel resistance - that is a different product category with its own compromises, covered in the squirrel-proof roundup.

Questions people actually ask

How much seed does the HARYMOR bird feeder hold?

2L, published on the listing - which is unusual at this price, where most listings state no capacity at all. That is roughly double the smallest hoppers in the category and about two-thirds of the largest.

Does the HARYMOR bird feeder camera need a subscription?

The listing does not say, and we do not treat silence as a no. It claims AI species identification without addressing how that feature is billed, so check the app's terms at the point of purchase and budget for the possibility of a plan.

What resolution is the HARYMOR camera?

2K HD live stream, per the listing. That is mid-pack and fine for a full-frame clip of a bird on the tray. No sensor dimension is published, which is the figure that actually decides how a backlit bird renders.

What Wi-Fi does it need?

HARYMOR does not publish a band. Assume 2.4GHz, as nearly everything in this category is, and check your router before the feeder arrives - a router broadcasting both bands under one name is the commonest reason pairing fails.

Is the HARYMOR squirrel-proof?

Nothing on the listing claims it is, and it is not a metal-bodied feeder. If squirrels are your actual problem, the metal options are in the squirrel-proof roundup and the distinction between chewing and eating matters more than the marketing suggests.

Is it a good first bird feeder camera?

It is a reasonable one, on the basis that it publishes a capacity figure and costs well under a hundred dollars. The open subscription question is the thing to resolve before you buy rather than after.

Have you tested this feeder?

No. Everything above is compiled from HARYMOR's published listing and cited below, with the unpublished figures printed as gaps rather than filled in with estimates.

Sources