Skip to content
The Cam Feeder

Smart Bird Feeder Cameras

HEAPETS Smart Bird Feeder

Four published specifications and eight gaps, at the bottom of the market. Worth knowing exactly which eight before you decide the price makes it fine.

A tufted titmouse feeding at a nut-filled bird feeder

How this page is funded. Buying through a link here earns us a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order we recommend it in, and we have not handled any of these products ourselves - see how we pick and the full disclosure.

Spend the extra and buy the BirdSnap instead. The HEAPETS is a competent-looking budget feeder camera that publishes 2K, solar, AI identification and app alerts - and one tier up, the BirdSnap adds a published IP65 rating, a named Wi-Fi band, a 3W solar figure and a stated free AI tier. At this end of the market a single tier buys four facts, and facts are the only thing anyone can sell you here.

If the very bottom of the market is genuinely the budget, the HEAPETS is a reasonable thing to buy. This review exists to make sure you know what you are accepting.

What it publishes

Four things: 2K HD video, solar power, AI bird identification, and real-time app alerts. That is a complete sentence about a camera feeder and it is more than the most expensive feeder on this site manages on its camera.

2K at a feeder is genuinely adequate. The subject is six inches from the lens, well lit most of the time, and the frame is fixed. Resolution is rarely the thing that disappoints people in this category - the 4K roundup is candid that more pixels do not fix the frame that actually defeats these cameras, which is a small dark bird against a bright sky.

So on the four things it says, there is nothing wrong with this feeder. The review is about the other seven.

The adjective problem

The listing says "weatherproof design". It does not give an IP number.

Those are different kinds of statement. An IP rating is a defined standard with a specified test: IP65, which the BirdSnap publishes at a similar price, means dust-tight and protected against low-pressure water jets from any direction. 'Weatherproof design' means the person writing the listing considered the design weatherproof.

This matters more than it sounds for a device that lives outdoors permanently, unattended, through a winter. It is also the single cheapest claim in this category to substantiate, which is why its absence is informative rather than neutral - the cold weather roundup works through which listings publish a rating and which publish a mood.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specifications and what each one costs to own. Every pick names the buyer it is wrong for.

Ranked on published specifications and what each one costs to own. Every pick names the buyer it is wrong for.
#ProductBest forPrice
1
HEAPETS Smart Bird Feeder

HEAPETS Smart Bird Feeder

2K, solar and AI identification at the bottom of the market - and the word 'weatherproof' doing the work a rating should.

The cheapest listing here that still names a resolution
$53.99 - View on Amazon

$79.99 33% off

#ad Price checked October 17, 2026. How this is funded

2
BirdSnap Smart Bird Feeder

BirdSnap Smart Bird Feeder

Four figures this category usually withholds - a solar wattage, an ingress rating, a Wi-Fi band and a free AI tier - on a sub-$100 listing.

The most published specifications under $100
$89.99 - View on Amazon

#ad Price checked October 17, 2026. How this is funded

3
HARYMOR Smart Bird Feeder

HARYMOR Smart Bird Feeder

The rare budget feeder that states its hopper size. 2L and 2K for under a hundred - and a specification sheet that stops there.

A published capacity below a hundred dollars
$85.47 - View on Amazon

$116.97 27% off

#ad Price checked October 17, 2026. How this is funded

HEAPETS Smart Bird Feeder

1. The cheapest listing here that still names a resolution

HEAPETS Smart Bird Feeder

2K, solar and AI identification at the bottom of the market - and the word 'weatherproof' doing the work a rating should.

$53.99 - View on Amazon

$79.99 33% off

#ad Price checked October 17, 2026. How this is funded

This is what the bottom of the market publishes: a resolution, a power source, an unquantified AI claim and an adjective where a weather rating should be. Seven of the eleven lines in its spec table are gaps.

That is not an accusation of a bad product. It is a statement that you cannot tell, and at this price a lot of buyers are content with that trade - it costs less than a year of some brands' subscriptions.

The one gap worth minding is the billing. A listing that says nothing about a subscription has not promised you there isn't one, and the three-year cost arithmetic is what turns a cheap feeder into an expensive one.

The listing says nothing about a subscriptionNo species count published7 specs the maker will not publish
Published specifications for the HEAPETS Smart Bird Feeder
Video resolution2K HDSource: HEAPETS smart bird feeder - manufacturer listing on Amazon, retrieved 17 October 2026
PowerSolarSource: HEAPETS smart bird feeder - manufacturer listing on Amazon, retrieved 17 October 2026
AI species identificationAI bird ID claimedClaimed with no species count.Source: HEAPETS smart bird feeder - manufacturer listing on Amazon, retrieved 17 October 2026
AlertsReal-time app alertsSource: HEAPETS smart bird feeder - manufacturer listing on Amazon, retrieved 17 October 2026
Ingress ratingNot publishedThe listing says "weatherproof design" and gives no IP number. That is a description, not a specification - the BirdSnap at a similar price publishes IP65.
Wi-Fi bandNot published
Sensor sizeNot published
Battery capacityNot published
Seed capacityNot published
StorageNot published
Subscription priceNot publishedBilling is not mentioned either way, which is the least reassuring of the three possible positions.

What it does well

  • Among the cheapest listings on this site that still names a resolution
  • Solar
  • Real-time alerts stated explicitly

What it does not

  • No ingress rating - "weatherproof design" is an adjective
  • Silent on subscriptions, which is worse than saying 'optional'
  • No published Wi-Fi band, sensor, battery, seed capacity or storage
  • AI identification claimed with no scope at all

Skip this: if a few dollars more is available. The BirdSnap sits in the same bracket and publishes an IP rating, a Wi-Fi band, a solar wattage and a free AI tier, and every one of those is a thing you can check.

BirdSnap Smart Bird Feeder

2. The most published specifications under $100

BirdSnap Smart Bird Feeder

Four figures this category usually withholds - a solar wattage, an ingress rating, a Wi-Fi band and a free AI tier - on a sub-$100 listing.

$89.99 - View on Amazon

#ad Price checked October 17, 2026. How this is funded

Count the published figures: resolution, solar wattage, ingress rating, Wi-Fi band, night vision and the billing arrangement. That is six, on a listing under $100. The dearest Birdbuddy publishes fewer.

The two that change a purchase are the ingress rating and the band. IP65 is a real standard with a defined test behind it, and a stated 2.4GHz saves you the setup failure that sends most of this category back to the retailer - read the Wi-Fi guide before you order anything in this bracket.

What is missing is the sensor and the battery, which is the normal gap. 2K with an unpublished sensor is still an unknown quantity in bad light, and that is the honest limit of what this listing lets you conclude.

No subscription claimed on the maker's listingNo species count published4 specs the maker will not publish
Published specifications for the BirdSnap Smart Bird Feeder
Video resolution2K live videoSource: BirdSnap smart bird feeder - manufacturer listing on Amazon, retrieved 17 October 2026
Solar panel rating3WA published wattage. Most of this category gives you the word 'solar' and no number.Source: BirdSnap smart bird feeder - manufacturer listing on Amazon, retrieved 17 October 2026
Ingress ratingIP65Dust-tight and protected against water jets. Most of this category publishes no rating at all and says 'weatherproof' instead.Source: BirdSnap smart bird feeder - manufacturer listing on Amazon, retrieved 17 October 2026
Wi-Fi band2.4GHzStated outright rather than left to be discovered during setup, which is the commonest cause of a return in this category.Source: BirdSnap smart bird feeder - manufacturer listing on Amazon, retrieved 17 October 2026
Night visionStated on the listingSource: BirdSnap smart bird feeder - manufacturer listing on Amazon, retrieved 17 October 2026
AI species identificationFree AI bird recognitionDescribed as free in the listing title. No species count is given on this model.Source: BirdSnap smart bird feeder - manufacturer listing on Amazon, retrieved 17 October 2026
Sensor sizeNot published
Battery capacityNot published
Seed capacityNot published
Species identifiedNot publishedThe metal model in the same range claims 10,000+; this one claims no number.

What it does well

  • Publishes six specifications at a price where most listings publish two
  • Published IP65 ingress rating
  • Names its Wi-Fi band rather than leaving you to find out
  • 3W solar panel rating given as a number
  • AI described as free rather than as a trial

What it does not

  • No published sensor size, so the 2K claim has no context
  • No published battery capacity or seed capacity
  • 2.4GHz only, confirmed rather than hinted
  • 'Free' AI recognition with no published species count on this model
  • A smaller brand than the incumbents, on a device whose app is the product

Skip this: if you want 4K or a brand with years of app history behind it. This is a disclosure story at a low price, not the best camera in the category.

HARYMOR Smart Bird Feeder

3. A published capacity below a hundred dollars

HARYMOR Smart Bird Feeder

The rare budget feeder that states its hopper size. 2L and 2K for under a hundred - and a specification sheet that stops there.

$85.47 - View on Amazon

$116.97 27% off

#ad Price checked October 17, 2026. How this is funded

The reason this one is worth a page is a single number: 2L, published. Hopper capacity is the specification that decides how often you walk outside in January, and at this price almost nobody states it - the budget end of this category is where listings go quiet. A maker that prints a figure is one you can at least compare.

2K is mid-pack and entirely adequate for a full-frame shot of a bird on the tray. What you are not getting at this price is a sensor dimension, which is the number that actually decides a backlit photograph - only one maker in this category publishes one, and it costs roughly three times as much. The flagship roundup sets out that argument.

The gap that matters most is the subscription position. The listing claims AI identification and says nothing about how it is billed, and on this site silence is recorded as silence rather than as free. Budget for the possibility of a plan, or buy from the no-subscription roundup where the terms are stated in writing.

The listing says nothing about a subscriptionNo species count published5 specs the maker will not publish
Published specifications for the HARYMOR Smart Bird Feeder
Seed capacity2LPublished, which is unusual at this price - most budget listings state nothing.Source: HARYMOR Smart Bird Feeder - manufacturer listing on Amazon, retrieved 1 September 2026
Video resolution2K HD live streamSource: HARYMOR Smart Bird Feeder - manufacturer listing on Amazon, retrieved 1 September 2026
SolarSolar poweredSource: HARYMOR Smart Bird Feeder - manufacturer listing on Amazon, retrieved 1 September 2026
AlertsInstant arrival alerts with AI species identificationSource: HARYMOR Smart Bird Feeder - manufacturer listing on Amazon, retrieved 1 September 2026
Species identifiedNot publishedThis listing claims AI identification without naming a count.
SubscriptionNot publishedThe listing says nothing either way, and silence is not the same as free.
Battery capacityNot published
Wi-Fi bandNot publishedAssume 2.4GHz until the manual says otherwise.
Ingress ratingNot published

What it does well

  • Publishes a 2L hopper capacity, which most budget listings do not
  • 2K live stream and instant arrival alerts at well under a hundred dollars
  • Solar as standard
  • One of the cheapest routes into the category that states any capacity at all

What it does not

  • No published Wi-Fi band, battery capacity or ingress rating
  • AI identification is claimed with no stated species count
  • The subscription position is not stated anywhere on the listing
  • No sensor dimension, so picture quality cannot be compared against the documented models

Skip this: if you need the subscription question answered before you buy. HARYMOR does not address it on the listing, and if a recurring charge is a dealbreaker the models in the no-subscription roundup put their terms in writing.

The silence on subscriptions, which is the expensive gap

There are three positions a listing can take on billing. It can say there is no subscription. It can say a subscription is optional. Or it can say nothing.

This one says nothing, and that is the least reassuring of the three. A listing that is silent has not promised you anything, and the sum involved dwarfs the price of the feeder: the three-year arithmetic shows a recurring plan comfortably exceeding the hardware cost over the life of the device, which is how the cheapest feeder in a comparison becomes the dearest.

The feeders that close this question in writing are collected in the no-subscription roundup, and the roundup ranks them by how firmly each has actually committed rather than how loudly it advertises. A silent listing does not appear there, and should not.

The full list of what is missing

  • Ingress rating. An adjective instead of a number.
  • Subscription position. Not stated either way.
  • Wi-Fi band. Unstated. Assume 2.4GHz and read the Wi-Fi guide first, because a single-SSID router is the commonest reason one of these never pairs.
  • Sensor size. Unstated, so the 2K figure has no context in low light.
  • Battery capacity. Unstated, so the solar claim cannot be judged through a wet month.
  • Seed capacity. Unstated, so refill frequency is unknown.
  • Storage. Unstated - no card, no cloud, no statement of where footage goes.
  • Species count. AI identification claimed with no scope at all.

Eight lines, three of which the BirdSnap fills outright - and a fourth it improves, by putting a wattage on its solar panel instead of a word. That is the comparison this review comes down to, and it is why the ranking above puts the dearer feeder first on a page named after this one.

Where it genuinely makes sense

Three situations, and they are real.

A gift for somebody who may not keep it up. A camera feeder is a commitment - an app, a charging habit, a refill habit - and not everybody who likes the idea likes the reality. The gift guide is honest that the most expensive option is the wrong gift for an uncertain recipient, and the bottom of this market is a much easier thing to have gather dust.

A second camera at a second feeder. Once you have a good camera on the main feeder, a cheap one somewhere else in the garden adds a different species mix for very little. The gaps matter less on a device that is not your only one.

A hard ceiling at the very bottom of the market. Then this is the choice, and the under-$100 roundup is the page that sets it against everything else in the bracket.

Who should not buy it

Anyone who compares on specifications, because there is very little here to compare with. Anyone in a wet or cold climate who wants a weather rating in writing. And anyone for whom an unexpected monthly charge would be a problem, because this listing has made no promise about that in either direction.

Anyone who already owns a feeder the birds use should also look elsewhere. A camera that clamps to the feeder you already have starts at about the same money and does not restart the weeks it took the birds to accept the feeder.

The verdict

An honest representative of the bottom of this market: it names a resolution, it names its power source, and then it reaches for adjectives. Nothing here suggests a bad product. Everything here means you cannot tell.

At this price that trade is defensible and a lot of people will make it happily. If the budget stretches one tier, the BirdSnap turns three of those eight unknowns into published figures and puts a number on a fourth, which is the best value this bracket offers.

Questions people actually ask

Is the HEAPETS bird feeder camera any good?

It publishes 2K, solar, AI identification and app alerts, which is a complete description of a camera feeder. It publishes no ingress rating, no Wi-Fi band, no sensor, no battery, no seed capacity, no storage and no subscription position. At the bottom of this market that may be an acceptable trade - it is not an informed purchase.

Does the HEAPETS need a subscription?

The listing does not say, either way. That is the least reassuring of the three positions a listing can take, because silence is not a promise. The feeders that commit in writing are in the no-subscription roundup.

Is the HEAPETS waterproof?

The listing says "weatherproof design" and gives no IP rating. That is a description rather than a specification. The BirdSnap at a similar price publishes IP65, which is a defined standard with a test behind it.

HEAPETS or BirdSnap?

BirdSnap, if one more tier is available. It adds a published IP65 rating, a named 2.4GHz Wi-Fi band, a 3W solar figure and a stated free AI tier - four more facts, at a price point where facts are scarce.

Does it work on 5GHz Wi-Fi?

Not stated. Assume 2.4GHz only, as essentially all of this category is. The dual-band roundup collects the few that publish 5GHz support.

How many species does it identify?

No number is published. AI bird identification is claimed with no scope at all, which is weaker than the 6,000 and 10,000-plus claims elsewhere - though those are claims about databases rather than about accuracy.

Sources